Separating Draw and Game State

cmagoun

Greetings, I am just learning pixijs and I have a question:

I am experimenting with writing a game, using pixi as the rendering engine. In my game I am trying as best as possible to have the act of drawing be a function of the game state. So, instead of issuing commands and changing the position and texture of individual sprites, I just alter the entities in my game, and the draw system knows how to draw them.

Currently, this is implemented by a system that runs in between the game state being updated, and pixi rendering the stage. Something like this:

function gameLoop() {
    requestAnimationFrame(gameLoop);
    update();
    draw();
    app.render(app.stage);
}

Where game draw essentially removes children from the stage, loops through entities that need to be drawn, creates sprites with the correct properties, and re-adds them to the stage. In practice this looks like:

draw() {
    this.container.removeChildren();

const entities = this.game.entities();
    entities.forEach(e => {
        const sprite = this.spriteMap.getSprite(e, this.game.cm);
        this.container.addChild(sprite);
    });
}

Is there a performance hit to removing/adding sprites to the scene each frame? Is there a better way to do this, while still avoiding having the game logic directly manipulate sprite positions/textures?

Thanks for the reply -- I appreciate any help I can get!

Following your example, I changed my scene-drawing code to look like this:

drawEntities() {
    const entities = this.game.cm.entitiesWith("sprite", DIRTY);
    entities.forEach(e => {
        const sprite = this.spriteMap.getSprite(e, this.game.cm);

if(e.isToBeDestroyed())  {this.container.removeChild(sprite); return;}     
        this.container.addChild(sprite);
    });
}

spriteMap.getSprite  handles setting the sprite properties based on the entity's current state.