Use a whole Container() as a complex mask for an element

StephanieP

Hello everyone,

I’m quite new to PixiJS but I love it so far! However, I just came across a problem that I find surprisingly confusing and I’m not quite sure which option would be the most effective.

I have two stages, a background stage and a front stage, both of which are `PIXI.Container()`. The background stage has a transparent background but is filled with multiple elements (Sprites and Graphics) that are animated. The front stage only has a title in the form of a `PIXI.Text()`. I want that title to be revealed by the multiple elements from the background stage, meaning it should only be visible when there is an element from the background stage passing behind it.

Now, masking in PIXI seems to only work with `PIXI.Graphics()` and `PIXI.Sprite()`. My background stage isn’t a Graphics, and I can’t use `PIXI.Texture.fromCanvas()` because my background stage is in the same canvas. Also, it would probably be really costly to generate a texture every frame of the animation to update the mask.

Is there any clever trick that I can’t yet think of right now? What would be the most elegant way to do this, performance-wise? It feels like there should be, but again, I’m new and I can’t quite figure it out yet.

Thank you!

Congratulations with first post!

Thank you! ?

And thanks also for the quick reply! I’ll take a look at Pixi Display, it seems really interesting!