artifacts/seams where perpendicular planes intersect

TheSkrapper

Hello,

(working better in Chrome than Safari)

<edit> I have changed the background to white and it seems that the issue is not just the seems but that the transparent portions seem to show when viewed on edge.</edit>

I'm new to BabylonJS and have been working on different implementations of the Menger Sponge fractal to learn the framework.  I'm on my third implementation now which allows me to quickly generate an L4 Menger sponge using only 984 vertices!!!!  I accomplish this by using 81 planes in each dimension that have different parts of the Sierpinski carpet as materials. 

I'm having issues with artifacts/seams where perpendicular planes are intersecting and I'm not sure where to go with it. (artifact may be the wrong term)  I've Googled but may not be using the best search terms.  I've tried re-creating my textures in case the images were off by a few pixels but that doesn't seem to be the problem.

Moving the camera show the artifacts/seams blinking in and out, specifically around the hollow center.  It makes it look like it is assembled with small blocks but it isn't.  That is where the planes intersect.  At certain angles with certain lighting they seem to disappear which leads me to believe they are artifact related and not due to the texture images. https://playground.babylonjs.com/#MFTLRX#12

My goal is to make this into a single multi-material object that I can instance to get really intricate sponges utilizing very little resources.

Thanks for your time and any ideas/advice.

-mc

Hello and first of all congrats for your great code. This is really cool to see :)

can you try to make the planes overlap just a tiny bit? Just wondering if it is float precision issue or texture filtering issue

Thanks for the reply Deltakosh,