Create a mesh from a list of vertices and faces

emilbusman

I'm a newbie going through the basics here. In the section about creating a mesh from a list of vertices, I can't get the code to work. It seems to crash when constructing the mesh in the line

var plane = new BABYLON.Mesh("plane", [3, 3, 2], scene);

Any thoughts? I am trying to create a hexagon (once I get the sample code working anyways :)

THe correct line is:

var plane = BABYLON.Mesh.CreatePlane("plane", 3, scene);

Thanks for the reply, but that doesn't seem to be what I need either.

The section of the walkthrough I am referring to states:

You can also create a mesh from a list of vertices and faces:.var plane = new BABYLON.Mesh("plane", [3, 3, 2], scene);var indices = [];var vertices = [];// Verticesvar halfSize = 0.5;vertices.push(-halfSize, -halfSize, 0, 0, 1.0, 0, 0.0, 0.0);vertices.push(halfSize, -halfSize, 0, 0, 1.0, 0, 1.0, 0.0);vertices.push(halfSize, halfSize, 0, 0, 1.0, 0, 1.0, 1.0);vertices.push(-halfSize, halfSize, 0, 0, 1.0, 0, 0.0, 1.0);// Indicesindices.push(0);indices.push(1);indices.push(2);indices.push(0);indices.push(2);indices.push(3);plane.setVertices(vertices, 1);plane.setIndices(indices);return plane;You have to create a blank new mesh and call setVertices and setIndices.

using the line you gave me breaks the lines plane.setVertices(vertices, 1); and plane.setIndices(indices);

I don't see anything like those two functions in the documentation either.

Oh sorry I misunderstood.

Here is a working sample for a box: