Javascript Proper Object Syntax

Rhuno

Hey all,

I'm fairly new to object-oriented javascript and had a quick question about the "right" way to set up an object. Namely, what's the benefit of using prototype versus just creating the function inside the object? Below are some examples:

Using prototype

function Rectangle(left, top, right, bottom){    this.left = left;    this.top  = top;    this.right = right;    this.bottom = bottom;			    this.width = right - left;    this.height = bottom - top;}	Rectangle.prototype.getArea = function () { return this.width * this.height; }

Not using prototype

function Rectangle(left, top, right, bottom){    this.left = left;    this.top  = top;    this.right = right;    this.bottom = bottom;			    this.width = right - left;    this.height = bottom - top;    this.getArea = function() { return this.width * this.height; }}

As far as usage goes, I don't really see a difference, but I was curious if there was something I'm missing. Any info or advice is appreciated. Thanks!

In the first example, you are creating one instance of the getArea function. Every Rectangle that you create, will have a reference to that instance.

In the second case, every time you create a new instance of Rectangle, you create a new instance of getArea too.

That's the theory. In practice, God only knows what each javascript engine does internally to optimize your code :) We've had similar discussions before on this forum (just scroll down a bit to find similar prototype-related topics), and the bottom line is that there is no "right" way. In most cases, it doesn't really matter which way you choose to do it, and in some very special cases, one approach may be better than the other, or viceversa - profiling will help you decide.

Its mostly memory related.

If you call a method of a object, the engine looks if the method can be found directly on the object.