pixijs or createjs is better for mobile/phonegap game

kstamatov85

Hello guys, I'm new in the game development and don't know which canvas framework to choose for my game.

Both pixijs and createjs looks great, but I'm not so sure which lib will work better for me, so to start investing time

learning it. My plan is to use Phonegap as wrapper and I'm targeting Android devices only.

Also all the screens/views in my app are organized with angular js,

so the game screen will be the only view where canvas will run.

What do you think and what will you advise me to use?

Thanks a lot!

createjs is good. I've successfully used it to build all my games, and will continue to do so. Its main advantages are similarity to Adobe Flash AS3 object model. Flash also does its html5 content export with createjs. 

However, if I were starting today, I'd seriously consider pixi:

- It seems it decently supports WebGL for a while (still beta in createjs)

- Some of its assumptions are (out of box) more performant for normal canvas. For example, createjs tends to do saveContext/restoreContext for every display object, which affects performance on older devices. It is not particularly hard to write your own createjs container, which does not support object tree with arbitrary transformation and avoid save/restore. But out of box Pixi, it seems, can be faster.

- Some of the phaser/pixi features are just more mature (like bitmap font support is better there). 

- Pixi community seems to be more lively and geared toward game development (especially if you add Phaser on top of it). 

However, best piece of advice I can give: DON'T use HTML5 in general and phonegap in particular for building Android apps from scratch. Unless this is for some sort of competition, or educational project, or a game less demanding than 2048. :)