My tileSprite is covering up my sprites instead of being in the background

owen

Hi all

I'm still a bit new to Phaser so please forgive this silly question.

I am trying to make a simple puzzle game with a constantly scrolling background that is, well, in the background.

So I have a preload() function and when complete it calls a loadComplet() function which sets a background image as a tilesprite as follows:

// tilesprite, for scrolling background            if (bgtile) bgtile.destroy();    bgtile = game.add.tileSprite(0, 0, game.stage.bounds.width, game.stage.bounds.height, 'bgtile');

Then in my update() I am doing this:

// scroll background     bgtile.tilePosition.x--;
The background image shows (albeit not as a background) and I know all of my other sprites are definitely there hiding behind the tilesprite because when I set the tilesprite alpha property to 0.5 I can see all my sprites hiding behind it!

The problem is that bgtile appears over the top of everything else in the game instead of in the background.  I think I'm making a dumb newbie mistake here. Is there some way I can send the tilesprite to the back of the display or adjust its z-index somehow?   There seems no 'sendToBack' for a tilesprite so I'm stuck.

I have also tried to 'bringToTop()' the sprites but this hasn't had any effect.

Any ideas welcomed...

Thanks!
Owen

PS. failed attempt (with apha 0.5 on tilesprite) is here: http://www.owensouthwood.com/rainbow/

I'd say that the best solution is to use groups : put everything you want to display into a group, and order those things within. Groups provide several useful function for ordering : for example, the order in which you add your displayable objects into the group will order them as layers, but the addAt(index) function also enables you to order them manually.

This example will show you how to create a group : http://examples.phaser.io/_site/view_full.html?d=groups&f=add+a+sprite+to+group.js&t=add%20a%20sprite%20to%20group