GLSL shader for WebGL

Dinkelborg

Hi,

I'm trying to create a shader and I'm having a really hard time to find a good tutorial for GLSL shaders for WebGL.

I have never written a shader before and so I really need to learn the basics, does anyone know a good resource 

for this or could offer some help with it? 

Here are some of the more basic question I have:

- What editor would you recommend for shader language?
- Where to look up types and functions (documentation)?

- Tutorials for WebGL?

Thanks for any help and recommendations,

Dinkelborg

Hey Dinkelborg :)

Very happy to see people learning shaders :)

The links alex_h shared with you are excellent. Btw, if you want to experiment your shaders, you can use the BabylonJS CYOS at http://babylonjs.com/cyos/

Or also use the Material Shader Creator of the BabylonJS Editor at : http://reath.free.fr/babylon/ (Edit -> Create Material Shader)

Hey, thanks for the links guys, but as far as I understand "learningwebgl.com" is rather about webgl in general not about shaders in specific, I have been reading some of their pages during the time I started using Babylon and Three<.js>, I haven't read all of them though... so there might be something.

I know shadertoy and looked around on it, the page is a really nice resource of interesting effects, but doesn't really help to learn how to create a shader, besides that, as far as I know, all shaders on shadertoy are some kind of screenshader, so probably something like post processing, they also just present the sourcecode to you without any explanation and as I mentioned, I'm a total beginner with shaders, so I really need some basics before I can grasp what people have done there and where the magic happens.