Is possible to load textures from a arraybufferview?

CUCHO

Hi. I am new to using Babylon.js and I've been wondering if is possible to load textures from a arraybufferview.

I used Three.js and there exists a function that allows to do.

DataTexture (data, width, height, format, type, mapping, wraps, wrapt, magFilter, minFilter, anisotropy)data - The data Should be arraybufferview. It contains the data of image based on the type and format.

Thanks.

Hello and welcome,

you can use the dynamicTexture to display an arraybuffer:

var dynamicTexture = new BABYLON.DynamicTexture("dynamic texture", 512, scene, true);var textureContext = dynamicTexture.getContext();// textureContext is a Canvas2DContext which is a really powerful tool to use 2D API// For instance we can use the getImageData, putImagedata to paste arraybuffervar imageData = textureContext.getImageData(0, 0, 512, 512);var buf8 = new Uint8ClampedArray(data);imageData.data.set(buf8);textureContext.putImageData(imageData, 0, 0);dynamicTexture.update();

You can also use base64 data directly with a texture:

http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#17YNKA

var image = my_array_buffer;var texture = new BABYLON.Texture('data:my_image_name', scene, true,true, BABYLON.Texture.BILINEAR_SAMPLINGMODE, onLoad, onError, image, true);// also works with arraybuffers (used for DDS and TGA loading)

The problem is : if you change your arraybuffer, you'll have to reload your textures using this method :(

If it's a static buffer, you can use this method, or use the powerful dynamic texture as Deltakosh said if your arraybuffer is dynamic :)

Here's the thing. I want to display a DICOM Medical Image. The DICOM file provided to me an ArrayBuffer (Uint8Array) with pixeldata in LUMINANCE format or LUMINANCE ALPHA format.
For LUMINANCE format the ArrayBuffer comes in grayscale with one channel per pixel (L) and for LUMINANCE ALPHA format comes with two channels per pixel (L, Alpha).