Massemassimo

Hey, I am trying to reorder my objects but I am having a hard time (I am a very inexperienced programmer in general).

So... Not sure if the following is important, but I will very briefly explain what I want to do and how I am trying to do it, maybe you can turn this into a lesson while (hopefully) answering the main question.

What I want to do:

• Draw a map consisting of hexagonal tiles (extending sprites)
  • Show some data about each tile when being hovered (text should be on or close to the tile)

How I go about it:

• create an overlay object controlling the info
  • create a map object which in return creates the tile objects
  • listen to hover events on each tile (did this with this.events.onInputOver.add(this.hoverOver, this); and if (this.input.checkPointerOver(this.game.input.mousePointer, false)) { this.hoverOver(); }, seems to do the same)
  • call a function of the overlay object called "drawTileCoords(this)" in the "this.hoverOver". function of the tile objects

Now hovering over the tiles works just fine (I also do "this.tint = 0xBADA55;" in thisHover(), which does tint the hovered tile).

Also having the overlay.drawTileCoords(tile: Tile) function write stuff about the received tile pointer (like tile.position.x) to the console is no problem.

In the constructor of the overlay object I set

var style = { font: "12px Arial", fill: "#000000", align: "center" };this.textQ = this.game.add.text(0, 0, "a", style);this.textR = this.game.add.text(0, 0, "b", style);

which should work just fine, right? In the drawTileCoords function I do this:

this.textQ.position.set(tile.center.x - 30, tile.center.y + 30);this.textR.position.set(tile.center.x + 30, tile.center.y + 30);this.textQ.setText("q:" + tile.coords.x);this.textR.setText("r:" + tile.coords.y);

and the text changes (checked with console.log(this.textQ.text);) but I never see the text being rendered.