Problems with tilemap

squarePenguin

Hello! I am new to javascript and I was trying to make a basic platformer game in order to learn more about Phaser. I did follow the tutorial: http://www.photonstorm.com/phaser/tutorial-making-your-first-phaser-game

and I am starting from there,

I am also using the starstruck example(http://examples.phaser.io/_site/view_full.html?d=games&f=starstruck.js&t=starstruck) as a guideline for making the basic level. However, I am finding it difficult to replicate the tilemap part. I understood that is is using a png tileset file couplet with a json tilemap. My problem is in creating such a tilemap. I searched on google on found the Tiled app does just that, but I still have some problems with it.

First of all, the textures I am trying to use(http://opengameart.org/content/platformer-tiles) do not come in the form of a single tileset but rather separately, each in it own png file.  I can import all of them in Tiled as a collection, but I do not know how to use them later in my phaser program. One think I tried was merging them in the tileset myself, but then they are of different sizes and Tiled splits them unevenly. What's the best way to do this?

Secondly, the starstruck example using the following line of code in order to manage collisions:

map.setCollisionByExclusion([ 13, 14, 15, 16, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51 ]);

and I do not how I should extract such "magic" numbers from my json file.

Thank you for your time!  Please tell me if you need further explanation.

Have you been using Tilemap.addTileSetImage? addTileSetImage

For the collision just read the json file. You'll find numbers that correspond to the tiles you want. Test out different ones.