Update rectangle color on hover

klg

Hi,

I'm new to Phaser. I'm trying to update the color of a rectangle on hover. Here's what I currently have:

var mysprite = game.add.sprite(pos.x, pos.y);
mysprite.inputEnabled = true;

var rect = game.add.graphics(0, 0);
rect.lineStyle(0);
rect.beginFill(0x333333, 1);
rect.drawRect(0, 0, rectWidth, rectHeight);

mysprite.addChild(rect);

mysprite.events.onInputOver.add(function() {  rect.graphicsData[0].fillColor = 0x5B5B5B; }, this);

I'm trying to make this work since yesterday and have tried a lot of other approaches but nothing seem to work. 

Thanks for your help in advance.

Your sprite object is tiny, because you gave it no texture or dimensions...

My approach to this is similar, except I don't attach the graphics object to the sprite.

By keeping them seperate, you can resize the sprite all you want to change the input hit area without changing anything about the graphics object.

I'd try something like this:

var rect = game.add.graphics(0, 0);rect.lineStyle(0);rect.beginFill(0x333333, 1);rect.drawRect(pos.x, pos.y, rectWidth, rectHeight);var mysprite = game.add.sprite(pos.x, pos.y);mysprite.width = rectWidth;mysprite.height = rectHeight;mysprite.inputEnabled = true;mysprite.events.onInputOver.add(function() {  rect.graphicsData[0].fillColor = 0x5B5B5B; }, this);

Your sprite object is tiny, because you gave it no texture or dimensions...

My approach to this is similar, except I don't attach the graphics object to the sprite.

By keeping them seperate, you can resize the sprite all you want to change the input hit area without changing anything about the graphics object.

I'd try something like this: