3D programming guide for beginner

dsman

Guys,

I understand this is bit off-topic . But beginners who are looking to build something using babylon will find it helpful. 

Can someone point to book or online-resource for complete beginner to understand fundamentals of 3D programming? (Independent of framework or language  OR  else with reference to babylon.js)

If you mean WebGL programming (I started reading books, some in french), you should know that it is far more complex than learning BJS... because BJS just hides this complexity.

There is for now no BJS book helas.

I personaly read this book : http://www.amazon.fr/Learning-Three-js-JavaScript-Library-WebGL/dp/1782166289 months ago when I didn't know anything about 3D for Web. Well, it's treejs but it exposes the same concepts used by BJS : scene, mesh, material, lights, geometry, sprites, particles, shaders, etc.

It's not, imo, a great book, for it's very accessible and gives the framework basis to beginners.

Migrating then from threejs ot BJS is very easy as BJS is generaly more straight forward than threejs to do things.

This book doesn't explain anything about raw WebGL.

I wish the same simple book, a primer,  could exist for BJS  ;)

I actually feel that davrous and delta tutorial videos are quite good. they gave you some good knowledge of how 3d works. but if you look for opengl tutorials, you will find stuff related to matrices transformations, and the really basic transformations you need to do in order to translate or rotate a mesh. if you actually learn those theoretical stuff, you will have no problems to get in to bjs, or in some other engines/api's.