Carousel: Project Advice

EulaConstellar

Hey everyone!

I'm brand new here and I'm just getting into Phaser.

Currently, I'm attending an intensive coding bootcamp, where we cram 2 years worth of code school into 3 months. I'm almost done school, aced my tests, and am now starting on my final project. I want to do an interactive, point-and-click story. My instructor recommended Phaser and I'm enjoying using it so far while playing around with tutorials.

Since I'm a newbie and I have only 3 weeks to finish this short project, I really need some help! I hope that I can learn from the more experienced Phaser users. :)

Two of the things I need to accomplish in the game are:

1. I need to figure out how to bind a sprite's movement to the cursor's movement and have the sprite rotate down on click. It's a mini-game where players use a bug net they collect earlier to catch bugs. I've tried searching online for answers and can't find anything. The bug net replaces the cursor and every time the player clicks, the sprite responds by taking a swipe with the net.

2. Have the bugs that the player is catching fly in randomized patterns on/ off the screen and pick up speed every time one is caught to increase difficulty.

3. Creating a timed event. The player only has 1 minute to catch as many fireflies as they can.

I know, I'm a noob! I just really want my final project to be something fun! I've even hired an illustrator to create professional backgrounds and sprites for the game. Any assistance would be appreciated. :)

There's no built-in Phaser classes to handle randomised sprite patterns, so you'll have to just come up with something for that. You could look at the Coding Tips tutorials, the WaveForms one has some nice path code in you can use.

For a timed event look at the Time examples on the examples site - but it's as simple as 'game.time.events.add(1000 * 60, gameOver, this)'.