My first game (and a code review?)

buttonsrtoys

I just finished my first JS project and my first Phaser project -- http://richardcoutts.com/game.html. It's mostly just a knockoff of the classic asteroids game with some different graphics. Had a lot of fun making it. Thanks to all who answered my newbie questions and to the Phaser developer(s) for putting together such an awesome package!

This is a lot to ask, so I won't be offended if no one takes me up on it, but I'd appreciate some feedback on my code. I'm an old C++ programmer, so comfortable with OO concepts, but not sure I implemented them correctly, or whether I broke JS conventions, missed opportunities for better patterns are maybe tighter code or just plain did something silly?

Edit: even though my app's short (~1000 lines), I'd like to hold it to the standards of a larger app.

This might come as a surprise (I know it took me a long time to accept this) but with javascript 90% of the times if it is working then its fine, I came from Java and the real hardship to learn javascript was the realization that you can make something with countless ways and the result has almost the same performance or effect, sure there are best practices that you can look up and have in mind but it really is so ridiculously easy and free (until you hit some bug that is totally nightmare to debug).

Javascript for C++, Java and other strict-type languages is like a catholic schoolgirl going to a rave-party in Mykonos at night!

@Skeptron, I don't have a repository but will try to get something up tonight. If it's not too much trouble, you can "view source" on the url to the game (it's not minified).

@MichaelID, thanks for the thoughts. I added an edit to my post. Even though my app's short, I tried holding it to higher standards.

Ok first comment : don't put everything into a single file. Make files for classes, with a nice package hierarchy. (or is it your build system that puts everything into game.html?).