scaling a scene loaded from babylon file

grire974

This is probably quite a simple problem to solve; but I'm pretty new to BabylonJS.  I would like users of my code to be able to arbitrarily scale a 3D model loaded from a .babylon file using code like this:

BABYLON.SceneLoader.Load("", "model.babylon", engine, function (newScene) {newScene.executeWhenReady(function () {...

After the scene has been rendered using, 

engine.runRenderLoop(function() {newScene.render();});

I'm then trying to apply the user defined scaling value like this (for example 200% scaling):

for (i = 0; i < newScene.meshes.length; i++){        newScene.meshes[i].scaling = new BABYLON.Vector3(2, 2, 2);  } 

As you can see from the attached images of normal vs scaled;
post-16528-0-01284000-1442933040.jpg
post-16528-0-67915200-1442933040.jpg

the 200 percent scaled version isn't scaled proportionately; e.g. the wheels out grow the chassis of the vehicle.  Is this the correct way to scale a scene of multiple meshes?  Should I instead be adding all my meshes to a parent node and then scaling that? (if so how).

Appreciate the help; thanks!

This could be because the scale of the mesh before you set it isn't 1,1,1 (which is sometimes the case when importing meshes).

You could try,

for (i = 0; i < newScene.meshes.length; i++){        newScene.meshes[i].scaling.multiply(new BABYLON.Vector3(2, 2, 2));  } 

What happens to the mesh if you set it to (1,1,1) does the mesh change size?

Good question - I think I'd already tried that; Tried it again just to be sure... All 6 meshes are showing initial scaling of {x: 1, y: 1, z: 1}.. also noticed that you added the .multiply member of the Vector3 class into your code; so I tried some variations of that - however as you have it; I don't think it will have any effect as its a statement rather than an assignment, I did try something like this though:

newScene.meshes[i].scaling = newScene.meshes[i].scaling.multiply(new BABYLON.Vector3(2, 2, 2));