Framerate issues at 144hz

EJanuszewski

Hi all, I'm pretty new to this and I'm only really a beginner JavaScript developer too so sorry for potentially being naive.

I can't share code as I'm not at my PC now but essentially I've got a mesh that I'm moving with the arrow keys, (player.position.x += .1; as an example) however on my 144hz monitor it moves twice as fast due to running more frames, does anyone know what the solution to this would be, or point me in the right direction and I'd love to try solve it myself.

Cheers,

Edward

The monitor actually won't make any difference - the rendering is using requestAnimatonFrame, which limits the FPS to 60 FPS max - independent if your monitor has 50, 100 or 144Hz.

To quote Mozilla's docs: "The number of callbacks is usually 60 times per second, but will generally match the display refresh rate in most web browsers as per W3C recommendation." https://developer.mozilla.org/en/docs/Web/API/window/requestAnimationFrame

I believe the standard offers no promise that rAF will max out at 60Hz, and instead that browsers are encouraged to sync to the refresh rate of the video mode (it just happens that 60Hz is somewhat common)

I've got a mesh that I'm moving with the arrow keys, (player.position.x += .1; as an example) however on my 144hz monitor it moves twice as fast due to running more frames, 

Short answer: Many games solve this problem by doing "game rules" (processing inputs, doing physics, etc.) in one loop and rendering in another. The idea is that your game rules should probably use a fixed timestep - you don't want physics behaving differently on slow and fast machines - but the render loop can run as fast as the player's machine will go.

Long answer - go read this article right now! Required game developer reading in my humble opinion.  :)

@fenomas : what do you mean with "I call it at 30fps and I always always pass it dt=33ms" ?