Could use a hand...

deleteme

This is what i have so far related to all that, I'm a bit new to this as well so if you have any suggestions i'll take them! :)

function update() {

game.physics.arcade.overlap(bullets, demon, killDemon, null, this);

//Enables bullets to hit demon
  game.physics.arcade.collide(demon, bullets);
  game.physics.arcade.collide(bullets, demon);

}

function killDemon (bullet, demon) {
  demon.kill();
  scoreText += 10;
}

I've never used phaser for a project before but I just had a play with the sandbox, doesnt look like you need the `collide` function calls, the overlap would do it

function update() {  game.physics.arcade.overlap( bullets, demon, function( bullet, demon ) {    demon.kill()    bullet.kill()  }, null, this )}

This assumes that bullets are a `physicsGroup` that you've used `bullets.create(...)` in your firing code.

edit actually collide or overlap doesnt matter, use whichever, but you only need the one collision code. At a push I'd say that collide gets called when they touch (or slightly overlap if moving very fast) and that overlap waits a tick later to make sure those sprites are overlapping. So use whichever granularity you like (there may be perf benefits to one over the other).

Yeah, no change in the results either way, and i have the bullets group defined as such under the create function

//Bullets
  bullets = game.add.group();
  bullets.enableBody = true;
  bullets.createMultiple(1, "bullet");
  bullets.setAll("checkWorldBounds", true);
  bullets.setAll("outOfBoundsKill", true);

//Bullet physics
  game.physics.arcade.enable(bullets);

Its kind of odd to, i have a seperate function to kill the player whenever the demon touches him, and that works just fine, I've tried to copy the basic format of this function as well but with no result

I was just playing with the sandbox barebones platformer template