Phaser, input, dom, and contextmenu

dotJayEss

I have been working with Phaser for a few months, and have started to use it in an application I am building and am running into an issue most likely tied to my ignorance of how Phaser events are implemented. I come from a web development background, and I feel my understanding of the dom and it's events are muddying my understanding of Phaser eventing. Before stepping through the input source I wanted to ask for help here to hopefully shed some light on my issue.

General

• All events originate from the DOM, yet the DOM event is never passed for manipulation to the handler, why is this?
  • Is there any way to get reference to the dom event in a given handler?
  • Is there a reliable way to prevent the default behavior of an event?
  • I am aware of the priorityID to control event priority and this has solved most of my use cases until now but it really only gives me control over bubbling and delegation.
  • I also found the capture property on the mouse object but setting it to true does not appear to have effect on my issue. 

My Issue: Unable to prevent the default behavior of 'contextmenu' event in Phaser 2.4.4

• My app has need to display a custom context menu over the canvas on right click, so I need to prevent the default behavior of the dom 'contextmenu' event
  • I have tried setting a function to the game.canvas.oncontextmenu property, the function is never called and native context menu is shown
  • I have tried selecting the canvas from the dom and adding an event listener to the contextmenu event, the handler is never raised and native context menu is shown
  • I have even tried selecting the canvas' parent element from the dom and adding an event listener, handler is never raised and native context menu is shown
  • I can select any element in my app phaser is unaware of and use this basic dom capability to assign the contextmenu event handler