Blending of shaders

pokrishka

Hi guys.

I'm new to WebGL and other related stuff and I'm learning shaders. I haven't used pixi other than creating scene with a sprite and applying my shader to it following basic examples on Pixi site and some codepen I've found. I have created the shader I want to use on the ShaderToy. What it does is it creates some cool pattern out of given color, changing it from black to white through the mentioned color. If I were to apply it to the real scene, I would use Screen blending mode (which is pretty easy when you are writing shader, just invert colors, multiply them and invert back again) - that way black would be fully transparent and white would be fully opaque. Basically, I want to create sophisticated glow with some pattern. My question is, if I don't have the background in my shader, how do I perform blending? Do I blend the sprite I used shader on instead, is it possible with pixi? If I don't want to have my sprite blended, just the glow effect - what would be the best solution? I can only think of making 2 copies of the sprite at the same spot, one fully transparent with the glow blendend in screen mode and one without any glow (my Photoshop experience suggests this :) ).

I'm asking here because I plan to use Pixi and learn it, but I just started off with the shader effect since another friend of mine is working on pixi project and I want to help him with visuals.

• 3 weeks later...