Smooth texture movement from point to point

emeraldmaster

Hi guys, I'm new to game dev, and I need your help

I'm writing basic multiplayer deathmatch game (tanks), server side is almost finished and now I need to adjust the client.

Server sends world updates every 20ms, including updated positions of tanks (x, y and angle). JS client is based on Phaser, but it doesn't use any predefined physics, all calculations are done on server. The problem :

When client receives new position of tank, it has to update position of sprite. Currently this is done in 'update' function:

tank.x = updatedPosition.x;
tank.y = updatedPosition.x;
tank.angle = updatedPosition.angle;

But from user's perspective this movement looks buggy, because his tank 'jumps' from point to point without animation. Is there a way to make this continuous transition more smooth?

This is initially due to server-side programming.. If when updating their position, you also updated the current movement, you could have predicted movement which would make the game look far less 'choppy'. In it's place, you could tween the position, though I don't know how useful that'd be but it's worth a shot. 

i.e: this.game.add.tween(tank).to({x: data.x, y: data.y}, 250, Phaser.Easing.Quadratic.In, true, 0);