Web fonts working great with Chrome/FF, but not on IE/Edge

Nick0602

Hi there,

first of all I wanted to introduce myself as it's the first time i create a thread on this forum even though I've been lurking for quite a while :) I'm a bachelor student in CS and as graduate thesis I'm working on a tetris clone (big shout out to @Jerorx as I used his example as starting point) made with Phaser that will be used to treat sight diseases caused by ambliopya. Nothing too particular, just a game that relies on Anaglyph 3D and plays with colors a bit :D

I took the original source code and I changed it to make the layout fit on phones (i'm using Cordova) with all the additional features I wanted. This is the first time I approach HTML/JS game development and I have to say that Phaser looks like an awesome framework, and as soon as I'm done with this I will surely try to keep going with many other ideas.

Getting to the point: the mobile version shipped with Crosswalk (I used Intel XDK) works perfectly, but I wanted to make it available via web as well and it works great on Chrome/Firefox. However, IE/Edge refuse to load the webfont I downloaded and included in the game project.

This is the @font-face I have in my CSS file:

@font-face {
    font-family: "Questrian";
    src: url("../fonts/questrian.eot");
    src: url('../fonts/questrian.eot?#iefix') format('embedded-opentype'),
         url('../fonts/questrian.woff2') format('woff2'),
         url('../fonts/questrian.woff') format('woff'), 
         url('../fonts/questrian.ttf') format('truetype'),
         url('../fonts/questrian.eot#Questrian') format('svg');
}

And in my JS file I have something like this:

var sidebarTextStyle = { 
        font: textSize+"em Questrian", 
        fill: "#FFFFFF"
    };

As the textSize changes depending on the screen size etc, then I create the labels with:

gameDetails.labels.timerLabelDesc = game.add.text(sidebarMiddle, verticalGap, "TIME", sidebarTextStyle);