My multiplayer virtual world

ozRocker

I've been asking a lot of questions lately.  Well here's why:

webiverse.jpg

www.punkoffice.com/webiverse

I'm working on a virtual world.  This runs on mobile devices and its networked, so yeh, you can open multiple browser windows to see for yourself.  Its just a start.  There's much to be done such as flying, building, asset management, region management, basic physics, etc...  I'm aiming to make it a collaborative workspace where people can build stuff together.  I have a lot of experience playing Second Life, developing for it and also running the OpenSim server so I've used some of my knowledge from that.

For those who care and want the details, here we go:

Client

I'm using typescript for the first time...and I love it!  I can now use Visual Studio for EVERYTHING.  I just felt stupid writing a big project in javascript so I decided to grow up and learn typescript.

Server

I'm using C#.  Its one of my fave languages.  So quick and easy and portable so I can build in Visual Studio then just copy the file to my Linux server and it works.  I was tossing up between nodejs and C#.  I've seen the benchmarks and for the bigger stuff C# comes out faster.

Networking

Just using websockets for this one.  No libraries required on client side, just straight javascript.  Using Fleck on the server.

Communication