Question About Scrolling/Scaling

EvelynEve

I'm rather new to Pixi.js, so please bear with me!

I'm converting WebGL into Pixi due to a number of factors. In the WebGL code, we use a shader to "scale" or "zoom" in on relevant data. When I made this into a custom filter, it caused a lot of blurry lines (using Graphics objects to draw a bunch of non-static lines, real time data) and makes it unusable. This was not the case in WebGL, which simply draws the points at their relative locations (the shader is just normalizing these points around the min/max of the data). 

Am I doing something wrong or should I be doing something differently? Here is the relevant snippet of code for the shader:

float xNorm = (aVertexPosition.x - xMin) / (xMax - xMin);
float yNorm = (aVertexPosition.y - yMin) / (yMax - yMin);
gl_Position = vec4(
   xNorm * 2.0 - 1.0,
   yNorm * 2.0 - 1.0,
   1.0);

Thank you for any help or advice! 

That is big problem, but I studied it.

The best way to get that data is to multiply by some matrix.

If you are talking about custom filters, please look at their code and which matrices do they use, which helper methods provide them. Please use DisplacementFilter and TwistFilter as a reference. You dont have to calculate the matrix or all these yMax/yMin values, just find already existant helper method that provides it.

One of the main problems is that target framebuffer for a filter in pixi-v4 is power-of-two texture and its larger than your working area.

Please checkout latest version from DEV branch to find that code: https://github.com/pixijs/pixi.js/tree/dev

And may "filterTransforms.js" be with you.

Hello. I figured there was some matrix transformation method I was just missing. As I said before, the filter works just fine. It does what I expect it to do in terms of scaling/zooming the data correctly. The issue is that it becomes too blurry/the quality degrades on the graphics object.