How to move a model around a scene?

peteK2

Hello one and all,

This is my first post here and I am new to Babylon.js framework, which I am really enjoying learning. I have a quick question I would like to ask if that's ok?

I made an example scene in the playground just to test out and used the skull model, below.

http://babylonjs-playground.com/#PZGBU#1

I want to be able to move the skull around the scene but when I use the "Drag and Drop" example's code it only lets me move it horizontally along the scene.

I read somewhere that it is possible to use Alt / Ctrl / Shift keys on the keyboard to move the models vertically too.

If anybody could post a solution to this question it would be fantastic as I have tried and failed to get it to function.

Regards!

Hi @peteK2, welcome to the Babylon.js forum.  Yeah, I think it was me... yacking here... that talked about checking for control/alt/shift keys (sometimes called "buckies").

It's real easy.  Let's look at the PG:  http://babylonjs-playground.com/#PZGBU#5

There ya go.  Hold control while dragging, and we move "Bone Face" up and down the Y axis.  Wanna see how?  I knew ya did.

In the onPointerMove function check out lines 84-87.  Line 84 checks for the .ctrlKey being pressed.  If pressed, we use slightly different values in our .addInPlace call (in line 85).  You can pretend addInPlace means... add-on.  :)  currentMesh.position is a vector3, and addInPlace needs ANOTHER vector3 or the adding won't work right.  SO I make one...

new BABYLON.Vector3(0, diff.z, 0)

diff.z ... is the amount of change in the UP/DOWN movement of the pointer.  So I shoved diff.z into the Y-axis slot of the new vector3.  Y-axis is up and down, so the mesh is now moving up and down... as diff.z changes during the up/down (mouse forward/backward) drag.  Easy, eh?

Line 86-87... if no control key... do things normally.