The Great Train (demo) Robbery

Wingnut

Hi

I'm no developer... but a 3D Max pilot and maybe someday... a scene/world assembler.  To get right to the surely-off-topic point, can the Train demo be run offline in a stand-alone-ish way?  I'm real new, but it looks as if it uses a database.  I've pilfered the entire github pile, and I think I have all the code pieces for the train demo, and the script paths look right, but no train world (yet).

I'm not a code stealer... but I am a code tweak'n'watch guy.  Could/would anyone be willing to shed some light on my endeavor?  Thx!

By the way, BabylonJS is very cool, in my opinion.  Not that my opinion is worth anything, but I am DEFINITELY enjoying the demos and the delicious text-editor-based ascii code. This old school VRML nut (and LambdaCore moo idiot) is sure excited about all these new possibilities (I'm age 56 - shhhh).  20 years ago, when VRML faded away, we 3D-on-web fanatics knew it wasn't permanent... didn't we?  Its an exciting time, to say the least.  Thanks Deltakosh and all the others who are blazing beautiful trails.  Well done!

Thanks for the info/help, and any zip-up of demos and their urls.

Larry "Wingnut" Wendlandt

Web Idiot

Bessemer MI USA

Hi,

Yes you can run the demos offline. We're even working on a sandbox that will be published this week where you'll be able to drag'n'drop your assets in the browser and it will load the scene with no code at all.

In the meantime, you can read this article: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/davrous/archive/2013/11/19/using-webgl-to-create-games-for-the-windows-store.aspx and you'll find that you only need 10 lines of code to load any of our demo scenes (including the train one). If you want to enable a pure offline experience once the scene will be loaded, you can read this article: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/davrous/archive/2013/09/24/using-indexeddb-to-handle-your-3d-webgl-assets-sharing-feedbacks-amp-tips-of-babylon-js.aspx

Bye,

David