Rays/rotations/directions

max123

hehe... you and getzel are working on lookAt and billboardMode at the same time.  Getz is wondering why lookAt and billboardMode use only Quats and don't report in Euler at mesh.rotation property... like camera.rotation does with a set .target does.  Protractor ops.  :)

ANYWAY... all that crap aside... I have some stolen SC/Cartesian stuff in:  http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#J6ZLH#3

See lines 45-57.  It is used in the particle system custom start-position function in lines 10-16.  It makes the dome-o-particles.  Not my code.  Creds included in source.

Hope this helps.

Ok, let's look at this nightmare playground you have going here.  Not sure why you are wanting spherical coordinates... but let's see if my little mind can figure this out, or beg to the correct forum helpers.

http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#1NE4XO#1

I didn't change much of anything.  I just started studying your ray.  Every time I have used rays, I follow it with a scene.pickWithRay... but that is just used to gather a wrapper called pickingInfo/pickInfo.  So, I thought about your custom ray.  There is lots of contorted math going-on in the ray2 function.  All of it is over my head... but, I guess that is where you wanted to use spherical coords.  It's all algebraically cool with me. heh

Here is one small thing that my pee brain saw, though.  var r2 = new Ray2(box.position, box._rotationQuaternion.toEulerAngles(), scene);

Hmm.  Are you trying to get the direction a mesh is facing, using its gotten-from-quat euler .rotation value? 

I'm no pro, but doesn't the 2nd param need to be a direction instead of an orientation?  Do you possibly need to use the rotation values... to calculate a "forward vector" first, and then use THAT as the ray's 2nd param?  Possibly, you need to convert a rotation, to a direction?

This crap makes my brain hurt, but I'll do guessing with the best of 'em, too.  I don't mind embarrassing myself in public.  :D