Current techniques for modularizing game code with ES6?

carpetfizz

Hello!

I just started playing around with Phaser today and I'm enjoying it a lot. I come from a frontend / UI engineering background so I'm used to modularizing my components and tying them together using require statements. So far, all the examples I've seen in Phaser are all written in a single file which makes me uncomfortable if my game is to become more complicated. For example I have a group called "ships" which can all shoot "weapons" I want each ship to have properties like current ammo, health, player_id, etc. However I've only been able to define them this way.

ships = game.add.physicsGroup();
// ships.enableBody = true

/* SET UP PLAYER */
player = ships.create(0, 0, 'ship');
player.anchor.setTo(0.5, 0.5);
game.physics.arcade.enable(player);

/* SET UP LASER */
laser = game.add.weapon(30, 'bullet'); // fire 30 shots every 100ms
laser.bulletKillType = Phaser.Weapon.KILL_DISTANCE;
laser.bulletKillDistance = 500;
laser.bulletRotateToVelocity = true;
laser.bulletSpeed = 600;
laser.fireRate = 100;
laser.trackSprite(player, 0, 0, true);

Now I would ideally like to have something like this:

class Ship {
    constructor(x, y){
        ships.create(x, y,'ship');
        health = 500;
        armor = 600;
        ammoCapacity = 1000;
        currentAmmo = 1000;
    }
}

But currently I have to declare a ton of global variables. I found the phaser-es6-boilerplate. Is this is the standard and should I be safe following the paradigms expressed there?

Thanks for any feedback!

Phaser is highly modular in code organisation, check out the repo, its the build process that concats it into one file, as is the norm, to be honest if you're actually used to using commonJS module spec you'd know this already, but that's beside the point. The examples tend to be single files because its clearer to a wider audience, not everyone uses a module system.

7 hours ago, carpetfizz said: