Newbie Question about Sprites/Preloading

dacatchman

Hi, I'm new to Phaser, but not game/sprite engines.  Javascript has some quirks I'm still getting used to, and perhaps this is one of them.

My question is this: Why do I need to assign a different 'id tag' to an image for sprites to behave as separate instances?

For example (preload function):

game.load.image('reel', 'reel.png');game.load.image('reel2','reel.png');game.load.image('reel3','reel.png');

Then, in my create function, I instantiate a couple custom classes (where the sprite itself resides):

r1 = new Reel({x:201,y:130,img:'reel',cb_stop:cb_r1_stop});r2 = new Reel({x:201+128+10,y:130,img:'reel2'cb_stop:cb_r2_stop});r3 = new Reel({x:201+128+10+128+10,y:130,img:'reel3',cb_stop:cb_r3_stop});

(class constructor where sprite resides):

s = game.add.sprite(args['x'],args['y'],args['img']);

Problem:

So if I do not make these 'reel','reel2','reel3' any cropping, moving, or other modifications I make to the sprite itself (yes, separate instances as they are wrapped in their own class) I make to the sprite itself will apply to all 3 sprites no matter what -- as if it's modifying the image resource, not the sprite.  As a temporary work around I just made 3 separate resources, but that can't be right, can it?

Sooo, I'm doing something wrong.  I'm just flying through the tutorials, so it's likely there's some other way to add/work with sprites and I'm missing it?

Hi - What are you actually doing to the images? If you modify the source image then yes, any sprite using it would be updated, but there's really very little you can actually change that will cause this. I think crop is the only thing that would have a 'global' effect. Rotation, scaling, offsets, position, etc certainly don't.