Mesh stays in shadowGenerator renderList after dispose()

Babylonian

I'm working on a project where a large number of objects get created, then are destroyed (with .dispose()), on an ongoing basis. I'm seeing memory use gradually increasing,  and FPS gradually degrading. Have checked to ensure the Scene.meshes[] array is not getting longer and longer. But I noticed that the shadow generator renderlist, which gets added to with :

shadowGenerator.getShadowMap().renderList.push(mesh);

...is getting longer and longer. The dispose() of the meshes does not seem to trigger removal from the list, although the shadows do disappear.

Is there something I should be doing to remove them from the shadow render list? Or should this be happening automatically?

BTW there is no heading for ShadowGenerator on http://doc.babylonjs.com/classes/2.4

Hi @Babylonian, welcome to the forum.  I am no expert... but I can tell you what I think I know.  :o

The .shadowMap for a shadowGenerator... is type RenderTargetTextureAt line 20 of the RTT, there is an interesting comment, regarding dynamically updating the renderList.

This could possibly indicate that RTT's don't have a constantly-updating .renderList... by nature/default.

If you know how to use this... renderListPredicate  and assorted stuff from lines 20-34, I think you can activate a continuously-updating renderList.   No promises.  Smarter helpers than I... will comment soon, I'm sure.  But meantime, you have some things you can experiment-with, if you wish. 

Here is another forum thread that talks about this issue, but it is older.  I was predominantly useless in that thread, too.  :)

Sorry I could not be more helpful.  Stay tuned.

Hi, @Babylonian 

" large number of objects ", what kind of objects are we speaking of?
are they all the same?, are some of them?

if they are, you could re-use them, instead of disposing,
so a basic setup;

at start you create/clone the all the objects you need,