animation and collisions with different sized sprites?

ErrorNull

Hello! I just started out with Phaser last week and total noob, though I do have experience with html and javascript. I've studied through a number of the 2D platform tutorials and they are great! To further my learning I trying to redo a couple stages of Zelda 2, and got the basics of walking animation done. That spritesheet contains images that are each 18x32 pixels. I am moving on to adding the crouching and attacking animations but have found these sprites are of different size than the walking animations. Crouching is 18x27 pixels, and the individual crouch-attach sprites are 34x26 .. because link is extending his sword. I'm not sure how to adjust for collision detection here with these differing sprite sizes. I don't believe that a phaser spritesheet can have 'frames' of different sizes. is there where I should be looking into the P2 physics and away from Arcade? Can someone please direct me to maybe an existing tutorial I've missed that will reveal how to work this in? Thank you! Here's what I have so far.. https://rpg-hero-uncut-errornull.c9users.io/v0_02/

link.png

I haven't used Arcade physics myself, I can only say that P2 has MUCH more flexible hit boxes and general physics abilities.

In terms of tutorials, https://www.codeandweb.com/physicseditor/tutorials/phaser-p2-physics-example-tutorial is quiet decent (albeit they want you to use their 20$ product), you don't have to use Physics Editor I believe you can just specify the polygons, but the tutorial itself is what I used.

thanks penagwin, i'll take a closer look into the P2 physics system. I do like the much more precise collision boundaries that can be done with P2.. and i don't plan to have dozens of zelda enemies on screen at once.. so i'll give it a shot.