Changing a passed variable

MrOrphanage

Hi all,

It's your friendly neighborhood noob here again. I have a problem that is stumping me and I can't for the life of me figure out how to fix it. What I'm trying to do, is use a function to update a text variable and an integer that I pass to it. It needs to work on multiple separate text/integer variables, so I can't just outright say "this.variable = 5" because sometimes it needs to change this.variable1 and sometimes it needs to change this.variable2. Below is my test code to try to create a function that alters the variables I pass it:

var mainState = {
	preload: function() {
		game.load.spritesheet('button', 'assets/whiteDice.png', 200, 200);
	},

create: function() {
		// Set background color
		game.stage.backgroundColor = '#3498db';

// Variables
		this.status1 = 'TEST1';
		this.status2 = 'TEST2';
		this.value1 = 0;
		this.value2 = 5;

// Text to display
		this.status1Text = game.add.text(0, 0, this.status1, 
			{ font: '20px Arial', fill: '#ffffff' });

this.status2Text = game.add.text(game.world.width, 0, this.status2, 
		this.status2Text.anchor.setTo(1, 0);

this.value1Text = game.add.text(0, 40, this.value1,

this.value2Text = game.add.text(game.world.width, 40, this.value2,
		this.value2Text.anchor.setTo(1, 0);

// Button to click
		this.changeButton = game.add.sprite(game.world.width/2, game.world.height/2, 'button');
		this.changeButton.anchor.setTo(0.5);
		this.changeButton.scale.setTo(.25);
		this.changeButton.inputEnabled = true;
		this.changeButton.events.onInputDown.add(this.click, this);
	},

update: function() {

},

click: function() {
		this.change(this.status1Text, this.value1);
		this.change(this.status2Text, this.value2);
	},

// Function to change text and values
	change: function(status, value) {
		status.text = 'THIS TEXT CHANGED!';
		value = 3;
	},
}
// Create a 500 px by 340 px game in the 'gameDiv' of the index.html
var game = new Phaser.Game(500, 340, Phaser.AUTO, 'gameDiv');