Optimized rendering of big amount of items

Mykola Martyniuk

Hi there!

I'm totally new in using pixi.js, and I need some help)

I am using pixi.js v4, the task is to render a big amount of items (~10k circles with text for example).

let texture = new PIXI.RenderTexture.create(radius, radius),
graphics = new PIXI.Graphics();
graphics.beginFill(0xffffff);
// here I need to add ONE instance of text (let text = new PIXI.text(...properties))
graphics.drawCircle(radius, radius, radius);
graphics.endFill();
app.renderer.render(graphics, texture);
for (let i = 1, len = rowNumber; i <= len; i++) {
    let container = new PIXI.Container();
    for (let j = 1, leng = placesPerRow; j <= leng; j++) {
        drawCircle(texture, i*25, j*25, 8, container);
    }
    app.stage.addChild(container);
}
drawCircle(texture, x, y, radius, container) {
    let sprite = new PIXI.Sprite(texture);
    // here I need to have separate text object for every circle, with unique value
    sprite.position.x = x;
    sprite.position.y = y;
    sprite.anchor.set(0.5, 0.5);
    container.addChild(sprite);
}

The thing is that when I create an instance of PIXI.Text() for every circle (drawCircle function), I have some freezes in my app, because of ~10k text instances.

And I have 2 questions:

- Is it possible to create one text instance for all circles, and override it's value and render it on each circle render? (it is not ok to use sprites for text, because it should be editable);

- And what are the ways to optimize application rendering? (like async/promise-based rendering, using requestAnimationFrame, web workers, etc.).

Thank you in advance!

You can create one instance of Text and then use its texture to create a sprite

text = new PIXI.Text(...);
text.updateText(); // force it to render to texture inside

sprite = new PIXI.Sprite(text.texture);