Grid game - wrapping sprites around screen with collision support

RickB

I started playing around with Phaser (pretty cool so far!) building a simple puzzle game and I'm curious if there is a built in way to accomplish some game mechanics I have in mind.  The game has a grid based level that allows the player to move their sprite either vertically or horizontally per move.  Some tiles are 'walls' that will block the player tile.  This is all working using the built in tilemapLayer, sprite and collision system.

One of the mechanics I have in mind is to allow the player to move off the screen to the right, and reappear on the left side (or vice versa).  I have this working in basic form by listening to the onOutOfBounds Phaser.Signal and adjusting the player tile across the screen accordingly.  This approach has two problems that I'm not sure if there is something built in that I could be using or if I should extend sprite or arcade to handle the situation (or some better way).

Issues:

1. As the player begins to leave the right side of the screen, I would like part of their graphic to appear on the left of the screen and part on the right.  In a way, there should be no "out of bounds".  The problem with using 'onOutOfBounds' is that it only fires when the tile is completely off the screen (which makes sense, but doesn't work for me).
  2. Building on the scenario above, if the player tries to leave the right edge of the screen and there is a wall tile on the left side of the screen, I should prevent them from leaving the right side of the screen.  In the example grid below, the 'P' should not be able to move to the right and wrap around to the left side because there is a wall on the left side.  
[1, 1, 1, 1, 1][1, 0, 0, 0, P][1, 0, 0, 0, 1][0, 0, 0, 0, 0][1, 1, 1, 1, 1]