Can't connect to localhost?

Adsy

Hi all,

Please be gentle as I'm completely new to game dev and just getting into Phaser. I followed the steps on Phaser.io and downloaded the necessary files and installed WAMP server. I located the "www directory" and added the "hellophaser" folder to test that its working but when I go to "localhost/hellophaser" in my browser, nothing loads. I can't figure out what else could possible be the problem.

is there an index.html in the `hellophaser` directory?

alternatively try hitting url `localhost/hellophaser/index.html` incase wamp isn't routing naked routes to an index page.

also, check your wamp settings, there might be a steer in there in case there are any strange routing rules that means its looking elsewhere for what to serve.

also also, as you're a JS developer have a look at installing node and using a node static server, its easier than fiddling with wamp although I'm not sure if you'd need to do anything else on a windows machine to make sure it routes through to port node will serve to. There are a glut of good tutorials out there though.

Yeah, it's in there but directly hitting "localhost/hellophaser/index.html" bring up the same results with, "This localhost page can’t be found".

Also I'm new to JS as I come from a design background and only know HTML/CSS. Is node something similar to wamp? would that be an alternative local server?

WAMP stands for Windows Apache Mysql Php, its a full stack of tools, you actually only need (or are trying to use) the Apache bit, which is a server that is good at pushing out static assets (which is what you want). Its fine for your purpose, if a little on the overview side of things.