Cannot add existing groups

ladybenko

When you create the Group it will automatically add itself to the world. The second parameter to Group (which you're not using in the code above) specifies the parent object should you wish it to not be the World.

I would still suggest you use game.add.group() rather than creating it yourself, but it won't matter if you prefer not to, just keeps it a little cleaner imho.

I would still suggest you use game.add.group() rather than creating it yourself, but it won't matter if you prefer not to, just keeps it a little cleaner imho.

Hi, thanks for the reply!

I'm interested in adding the group afterwards because I wanted a custom group class inheriting from Phaser.Group. The reason is that I had some sprites that were related (in this case, a HUD), and I wanted to separate the logic of creation of these sprites into the group's custom class, plus a bit of other logic related to these sprites.

Is there another way of doing this? I'm new to Phaser and a bit lost :) Thanks!

Ok that makes more sense, what I'd do in that case is have my custom class extend Group, so that when the custom object is created it gets added at the right point. Do you need an example of this?

If you would be so kind, I'd appreciate it. I tried and could not make it work :( Thanks a lot rich

Here is how I'd do it: