How to make a sphere roll down a triangular prism

Defcronyke

I am new to 3D game dev, and I'm wondering how to make a triangular prism that a sphere could roll down. I think I'm missing something huge, because physics libraries only seem to support the most basic geometries, excluding triangular prisms and other important shapes. Could someone please point me to some resources or explain how to deal with physical interactions between more complicated shapes? I notice that BabylonJS makes it easy to create lots of neat meshes, however, I'm missing how to simulate their shapes on the CannonJS side of things. I want to make a game where the player controls a sphere by rolling it around various scenes, but it just doesn't seem possible using only spheres and boxes, for example.

Hiya Defcronyke, welcome to the forum... good to have you with us.

Use the CannonJS physics engine and use the meshImpostor.

Unfortunately, meshImpostor ONLY interacts with spheres, but that is exactly what you are using, so, perfect match. 

For rolling/moving the sphere, use applyImpulse or setLinearVelocity.  Remember that spheres have no significant friction, so, it is difficult to STOP a rolling sphere.  Many times, it is best to setLinearVelocity (AND angularVelocity) = new BABYLON.Vector3(0, 0, 0)... to stop a moving sphere.

Also keep in mind that physics-active mesh... use mesh.rotationQuaternion instead of .rotation.

Good luck, keep us posted.

Ah yes.  :)  Sorry about that.  I wonder if meshImpostors react with meshImpostors.  I doubt it.  But heck, try making the floor a meshImpostor, too.  It probably won't work, but, what the heck... it's worth a try.

The other option might be... make the ground be a sphere... very down-scaled Y.  (a very flat sphere, like a big pancake)... and then use a sphereImpostor on IT, too.  Kind of weird, but better than peeing on your foot, right?  :D  Or perhaps put that flat pancake (with sphereImpostor) just BARELY underneath the standard ground.