beginner question: using shaders in pixi v4 (custom filter)

flowen

Hi, this is my first time using shaders and the new filters in pixi v4, so please bare with me :ph34r:

First of all I'm a bit confused by the term (custom) filter.. Is that the same as the user of a shader? I assume it is. 

Second I tried using this example. I got it to work in pixi 3.x but somehow I can't figure out what i'm doing wrong in v4. no error messages, just a black canvas. 

My goal is to create custom button hovers with PIXI, using shaders, etc. I tried 2 different ways but... alas, same black canvas

HTML:

<a href="#" class="btn btn-one">
  <canvas></canvas>
  <span class="title">button effect one</span>
</a>

shader.frag:

precision mediump float;

uniform vec2 mouse;
  uniform vec2 resolution;
  uniform float time;

void main() {
    gl_FragColor = vec4( sin(time), mouse.x/resolution.x, mouse.y/resolution.y, 1.0);
  }

JS:

var btnOne = document.querySelector('.btn-one');
    var width = btnOne.clientWidth;
    var height = btnOne.clientHeight;
    var app = new PIXI.Application({
      width: width,
      height: height,
      view: btnOne.querySelector('canvas')
    });

btnOne.append(app.view);

// create rect to fill the button and apply shaders to

const rect = new PIXI.Graphics()
        .beginFill(0x00ff00)
        .drawRect(0, 0, width, height);

app.stage.addChild(rect);

// Stop application wait for load to finish
    app.stop();

PIXI.loader.add('shader', 'shader.frag')
        .load(onLoaded);

var simpleShader;
    var uniforms = {};
    uniforms.mouse = {
      type: 'v2',
      value: { x:0, y:0 }
    }

uniforms.time = {
      type: 'f',
      value: 0
    }

uniforms.resolution = {
      type: 'v2',
      value:{ x: width, y: height}
    }

function onLoaded (loader,res) {
      // Create the new filter, arguments: (vertexShader, fragmentShader, uniforms)
      simpleShader = new PIXI.Filter(null, res.shader.data, uniforms);

rect.filters = [simpleShader];