Game with AJAX->PHP

Wizz

I'm new to game development.

I want to create a game that is decided on the server side with PHP. The graphics will be shown using Canvas and I would hope that some graphics would be used from Illustrator.

I need to know if the pixi.js framework can be used to communicate via AJAX to represent different graphics through user interaction.

Example.

User makes a decision -> values are calculated on the server side -> sent back and represented with graphics.

Is this possible? I took a glimpse at the documentation and searched for AJAX but found nothing.

Pixi does one job really well, renders stuff lightning fast!

Ajax is (rightly) beyond its scope but there are many libraries out there that can help making ajax calls to a remote service, if you don't have to support old browsers then fetch is very nice modern api for accessing xhr.

Pixi can then be used to render your scenes and make your graphics respond to changes you get from querying the backing service.

Thanks for the reply. I checked Fetch and although IE is not supported, I suppose it could still be a solution.

https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/API/Fetch_API/Using_Fetch

And yet, if pixi.js doesn't support AJAX, do you know of any other engine that does? I want to create a turn-based game, so the rendering of graphics in a very fast way is not essential to me.

I'll have to check out the other options.

I don't, most frameworks/engines don't tend to touch ajax communication with services (some will I'm sure, but its not usually a big concern and there are lots of alternatives that are easy to integrate).