How to make FreeCamera push objects

splash27

Hi everyone!

I am trying to implement a simple thing. I want the player (FreeCamera) be able to push other objects on scene when he collides with it.

The approach I found before is creating of the box and attaching camera to it.

Like this:

camera.parent = playerBox;

and then attach Impostors to playerBox and other pushable objects.

But I completely don't like this.

Because: 
1) Camera falls if playerBox falls after collision. I want the player to be stable while colliding.

2) I need to reimplement controls for playerBox, including mouse look. Well, it's easy to make playerBox move along axis (X,Y,Z). But what about diagonal movement? What about mouse look? I need to reimplement everything that FreeCamera already can do.

To be honest, I just want FreeCamera to have some mass while it collides. 

Is there an easy way to do this?

Hiya splash27, welcome to the forum.

I'm no pro at these things... but I might have found a solution.

https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#WWCK0#71

Sorry for messy playground.  Test by using up-arrow to drive camera into barrel2, which is straight ahead.  When camera hits barrel2, barrel2 will move away from camera (a small and adjustable amount).  It could use BJS animation or other linear interpolation (lerp)... to move "smoothly" with ease-to-stop, too, perhaps. That would probably work best IF you want a further-distance mesh-move.

Interesting places:

line 68 ... I set a rather fat-belly .ellipsoid on the camera.  :)
lines 177-187 ... a mesh backAwayFromCamera function that... does what it says :)
lines 189-197 ... a camera onCollide func, which calls backAwayFromCamera(meshThatCameraHit)