Visualization of large data sets - seeking advice

Ronny Abraham

Hello all,

I am looking for a way to render interactive charts in a browser with a large number of data points, and at a high rate. This is for a data visualization project I am working on here at kns.com ( I am a developer in the Data Visualization team here)

For example I would like to be able to render up to 2 million data points, with an update rate of 20K new points per second (new points are added and the oldest ones are thrown away). I would also like to have data grouping, where at a high zoom level, neighboring points are being grouped to 1 point by averaging or other method (level of detail).

Up to today, we were using Highcharts (a chart library), which has a very good API to create charts and does data grouping. However, even with its latest version and with webGL enabled, the performance is not adequate for large data sets and continuous updates.

See example here: https://jsfiddle.net/kq0cs070/ (click 'start update, and use mouse to drag-zoom).  The update rate is around 400 MS to draw the scene. That is 2.5 frames per second.

[As a side note I will add that highcharts prepares a webGL canvas and then make an image out of it, followed by creating a tree to map pixels on the image to objects (data points).]

In any case I am looking for something with better performance and to be able to run in a browser.

So I started looking into game development with webGL, and I wanted to ask for advice.

I would prefer to have a chart API where my code will call "create chart" and not "draw a line", but I did not find such a library with the performance I am looking for. So I was wondering if I need to develop something at a lower webGL level with libraries like pixi or phaser etc, and what would be a good path to solve this problem.

Your input is highly appreciated

Thanks for reading :-)

Ronny