Particle impostors colliding strangely with ground

vrent

Hi All,

Disclaimer: I'm very new to Babylon.

I was playing around with this cloth tutorial, and I wanted to make the cloth land on some sort of ground object.

So far, I haven't been able to find one that works.  You can see in this playground how the cloth reacts to a box impostor, side-by-side with a sphere behaving normally.

I have the restitution of everything set to 0.  The sphere stops nicely but the cloth shoots off into the distance.  I've also tried this with a ground impostor (sphere works fine, cloth doesn't interact with the ground), 

and a plane impostor (cloth collides correctly, but sphere shoots up into the stratosphere).

I have also tried adjusting the initial linear velocity of the cloth particles.  More velocity = flies away faster, less velocity = falls right through the ground.  My ultimate goal involves the cloth having an initial z velocity, so I'd like to be able to make that work.

Can someone help me figure out what I'm missing here?  Does it have something to do with the distance joints connecting the particles in the cloth? Should I try using sphere impostors instead of particles?

Thanks!

(side note: is there a better way to translate the cloth's position than the translatePositions function I made? The built-in ground.rotation.axis method rotates the cloth, but not the actual particles themselves)

Hiya vrent, welcome to the forum.

https://playground.babylonjs.com/#JE2GZM#3

Let's see... your translate func had a "fencepost error" (off-by-one).  Line 7 needed to be "length+1".  Minor issue.

Um... line 27... enabling physics.  You have not specified WHICH physics engine you want to use... CannonJS or OimoJS.  Sooo... it automatically chooses CannonJS.  This USED TO BE... OimoJS by default.

AND.... this playground was likely intended for OimoJS, but I'm not sure.  I'm speculating.