[help] Noob problem with canvas animation

noobeyne

Hello all,

I'm new to html 5 and making my first steps here, trying to understand what I'm doing.

So now i have a rather static game played on tiles that the user is supposed to slide, and I'm having this strange bug that i can't seem to come around for  afew days now:

To animate the sliding of tiles by the user, i am trying to delete the area where animation occurs, and then repeatedly repaint the slides moving in that area.

The problem is that there's also background underneath, and even though i first paint the bg and then the sliding icons, still i get only the background and not the icons.

When i don't paint the bg, the icons are there - so what must be happening is that the bg gets painted over the icons, instead of underneath.

Didi anyone have anything like it before?

Here's the code i'm using for that: