how to make a realistic attic with sunlight through the windows

mfprogrammer

Hi Guys, 

I am new to Babylon. Just started with it and was wondering if something like this possible and if yes, how do I go about it?

This is what I can build using the Standard material. 

5abd09e11416d_babylonatticexample.thumb.png.b0d5a09b61c827a3bc39834aca554cf5.png

My client is looking for something more realistic in the following.
1. Sunlight in the attic
2. Reflections after the sunlight in the attic

I am looking around if this is possible.

I have seen the PBR material in Babylon. I see that the HDR texture is given to every material in the demo (which is actually the surrounding/skybox). That reflection is seen on all the materials and hence, looks realistic.
I am referring to this demo https://www.babylonjs.com/demos/pbr/

I am wondering if I can use PBR material for walls, the floor in the room and add a directional light through the window.
Is what I am thinking about possible? Please correct me if I am wrong.

daylight.thumb.png.9b53a3128ad4c8338ed9df400bb90161.png

I am looking to build something like this. Will PBR material help to reach somewhere here or even close to it?

Thanks.

Hi MFP, welcome to the forum.

You MIGHT have "reflections" and "shadows" a bit confused.  The sunlight-through-openings is done with BabylonJS shadows.

All in all, YES, the effect you show in the pictures... is quite possible.

https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#1XVEKZ#14

In the above playground demo... a directional light is low-orbiting around a roofless cabin.  Much like the light effects in your pictures, we can also see the directionalLight in the playground...  shining thru the gaps in the shadow-casting cabin logs.

The cabin floor receives shadows/highlights nicely, but notice that they are also cast upon the walls.  So... shadow casters can also be shadow receivers, and casters can even cast shadows upon themselves.  Fun!