Ignore Gravity and Use Collisions only

KamranK

Hi, I am new to Babylon.js and trying out different things which I might need to use in future projects.

I was wondering if there is a way to cancel out gravity from physics so the objects don't float away and stay static and just use the collision aspect of physics where the one mesh wont allow other meshes to pass through it.

I found out that if I set the gravity to zero and the Impostor to PlaneImpostor the meshes stay static in space and I can move them around using pointerevents etc but the meshes dont have any interaction (meshes pass through each other when I drag them). I might have to add callbacks but that would be same as using collision detection without the physics engine

• 3 months later...

Following up on this topic, is there a way to have the physics impostor working but not applying the gravity force on some meshes?

For example, to simulate hoovering helicopter at fixed altitude or plane flying forward without falling?

The option

mesh.applyGravity=false

Doesn't make a difference for the physics engine.

When I use

physicsImpostor.setMass(0)

then the mesh doesn't respond to any force anymore and just sits there still, as if I ran the command

physicsImpostor.sleep()

same effect (all physics ignored, even applyImpulse and applyForce and setLineairVelocity etc.).

In the desired scenario the steering of the helicopter and/or plane is done by application of force/impulse. And when two planes hit or plane hits helicopter then the physics engine will compute the new velocities and rotations for me. (For even more game excitement, when a rocket or missile hits the airborne unit ? )

Here's a picture to get the idea: