Get and Set Quaternion?

Wintersun

Hello, newbie here coming from both 3d World and Web dev World.

currently I'm working on a project and I've made 3 handles for user to rotate the mesh on local Axis everything works fine. when the user finished doing what he does, I save the object rotation by getting the quaternion like this mesh.rotationQuaternion and save it either as separate values for x y z and w or whole object, but after reloading when I apply the same quaternion rotation to the object like mesh.rotationQuaternion = new BABYLON.Quaternion(this.rx, this.ry, this.rz, this.ra); I get a squashed and streched mesh in so many ways and it's not the same shape at all. What am I doing wrong?

Hi @Wintersun and welcome from me. You can just put your basic methods into a PG to see what happens. Here is a simple example where one box is created and rotated, the rotation stored, the box rotated again and the stored rotation applied to a different box obtaining the first rotation. If you want to re-apply it to the original box then take out the comment from the penultimate line.

https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#4GEDM2

Perhaps you can build on this to show how you carry out rotations, store them and re-apply them.

4 hours ago, Wintersun said:

mesh.rotationQuaternion = new BABYLON.Quaternion(this.rx, this.ry, this.rz, this.ra);

Here is another example.  Note what the Quaternion is (y,x,z), so different than Vector3.
https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#1ST43U#54
Still that should do any squashing if you get those backwards...
edit: oops. the main constructor is x,y,z,a, but I normally use RotationYawPitchRoll.

If the rotationQuaternion is NOT set then you need to get the mesh.rotation!