Introduction - HTML5 + Multiplayer Game

Damian Pastorini

Hi everyone,

Nice to meet you all, my name is Damian, I'm starting to work on a MMORPG using Phaser 3 for the frontend (that's how I've hit this great forum), and NodeJS for the server (using Colyseus.io).

This is the first time I'm working with NodeJS and in a game development (I've been working in e-commerce with PHP for the past 10 years), so lot of stuff to take in, but so far I'm doing quite cool.
In about 30hs of work I've already got a basic implementation between NodeJS + Colyseus + MySQL + plain HTML5, where you will be able to register/login and move a square with your name over the page :P

Side note: I know the main forum topic is HTML5 development (that's why I'm asking this here in the general topic), but I was thinking that will be a great idea for the admins if we could have a section for server-side integrations?
I did a quick search and read a few posts that have some tips but consolidate everything in a new section will be much better. Also considering that you can use any of the client frameworks to create some great multiplayer games. 

So, what I'm looking specifically is for some references on develop a Phaser 3 client by using npm and a builder like parcel or webpacket, here you will find cool examples for each:
https://github.com/endel/tic-tac-toe > this one implements Colyseus on the server to handle server side
https://github.com/jackyrusly/jrgame > this one use Phaser 3 and plain Sockets.io 

My idea is to create a mix between those two, but I still can't decide if I should use Webpacket (https://www.npmjs.com/package/webpack) or Parcel (https://www.npmjs.com/package/parcel), any recommendations?

I've did some research and it seems that Parcel is a bit new and better:
https://x-team.com/blog/rollup-webpack-parcel-comparison/
https://medium.com/@ibrahimbutt/if-youve-ever-configured-webpack-parcel-will-blow-your-mind-b615468cee78