How do I call a callback function when two objects stop overlapping?

GreenCloversGuy

I am a hobbyist game developper and I've been trying to get into Phaser 3 recently as I enjoy using Javascript. I'm making an rpg-like and I'm trying to make a very basic "Press x to talk" system. I'm trying to get an image to show when the player is within range of an NPC.  

class WorldScene extends Phaser.Scene{

constructor(){
    super('WorldScene')
  }

preload(){

}

create(){

this.NPC = new NPC(this, 200, 90, 0x00FF00)

this.player = new WorldUnit(this, 50, 100, 'player', 0)

this.cursors = this.input.keyboard.createCursorKeys();

this.player.addOverlap(this.NPC);
    this.NPC.addOverlap(this.player);

}

update ()
  {
    this.player.update();
    this.NPC.update();
  }
}

class Unit extends Phaser.GameObjects.Sprite{
    constructor(scene, x, y, texture, frame) {
    super(scene, x, y, texture, frame);
    scene.add.existing(this);
  }
  addOverlap(targetCollider, func){
    this.scene.physics.add.overlap(this, targetCollider, func, false, this.scene);
  }
}

class NPC extends Unit {

constructor(scene, x, y, color){
    super(scene, x, y, 'player', 1);
    scene.add.existing(this);
    scene.physics.add.existing(this);
    this.setTintFill(0x000000);
    this.body.setCircle(20, -10, 0);
    this.talkalert = new Phaser.GameObjects.Image(scene, x, y-10, 'icons', 49)
    this.talkalert.setScale(0.2)
    this.talkalert.alpha = 0;
    scene.add.existing(this.talkalert)

}
  addOverlap(targetCollider){
    super.addOverlap(targetCollider, ()=>{
      this.talkalert.alpha = 1;
    })
  }

update(){

}
}

I've not shown the WorldUnit class as there is currently no events being shared between the two so I believe that the code can only be completed in the NPC class.