[WIP] Space Invaders Cubed on Android

eps

Oops, posted this in the general demos and projects forum..

I've been developing this game over the past few months....  It's been Alpha tested and I think it is now ready for Beta testing...!

Screenshot attached.

Its been developed using Basic4Android, which creates the WebView for the game and the Menus.  The rest is HTML5, using BabylonJS and JS to create the gameplay mechanics.

Screenshot_20181125-005108.png

3 minutes ago, jerome said:

any online playable demo to test ?

I can make this available - at the moment it's "only" available for Internal Test on Google Play at the moment.  I can add you to the list - if you PM me a gmail email account you can then download and install the game as it stands at the moment - it's only Alpha test right now.

This is now available on Open Beta... So there are still some items to be addressed, but hopefully not too many.

It's my first attempt at a game ever!

https://play.google.com/apps/testing/torquesoft.spaceinvaders

Left hand side of screen moves the players' ship. The right hand side fires a shot.

Any feedback is welcomed!

There is a limit of 1,000 Beta Testers...

I looked up the app in the Play store and found it under 'beta' versions. Jeey!

Installed the Android app and it plays nicely. The theme for space invaders is very intuitive; the game objective doesn't need much explanation for this retro classic.

But wait... BabylonJS on Android app store?!? This opens new perspectives for my own BabylonJs game :-)

In the (?) help screen you maybe want to put the instructions on movement and firing.

Some struggles:

• When I tap too frequently on the screen, my device gets into zoom mode and then I only see 1/4th of the screen (star field).
  • The shooting sound is a bit annoying for other people in the room.

But these are just minor annoyances between me and my phone haha.

Q

12 hours ago, QuintusHegie said: