Variables

davidhetherington

Hello,

I have been using flash for teaching games development and have taken the plunge into html 5, very impressed with phaser which I plan to use as a replacement. My background is programming where I have always declared variables in advance, I have been doing this in Phaser but have noticed if I took the variable declaration out for example 'var score;' the game still works fine. Should I be declaring variables at the top although as I create the score in the game it must generate the variable?

regards

David

ps Love Phaser! 

Where you declare them basically just defines their scope. So if you declare them at the top they become 'global', visible from within any function. If you declare them within a function they are local to that function only, not visible outside of it. Hence why both are valid, it's just creating a different sort of var in the process.

Hello Rich,

Thank you for your speedy reply :-) I understand about local and global variables. however if for example I removed the line of code that declares the variable ie var score; and but include a line score = 0; no error is thrown? Am I right in assuming score = 0; is declaring the variable and initialising it? Would it be preferable to use the line var score = 0; ? I would just like clarification as I want to introduce the use of phaser in my games development class rather than using flash as I'm really impressed with your games engine.

Many thanks

David

Yes, if you haven't declared a variable when it gets initalised, the variable is declared as a global variable on the spot then initalised.

This is great if you forget to declare a variable as your code will still run but this can easily introduce bugs.